Monday, 07 November 2016 18:55

Read, Discuss, Grow!

Written by Book Groups Committee
Rate this item
(0 votes)

Participants told the Book Group Committee that the first  Affiliate Book Group was a very positive experience for just about everyone, even if the book—Making All Things New by Ilia Delio—was often challenging. We’re looking forward to the second Maryknoll Affiliate Book Group, which begins in January.

You are invited to join the next session, where you may indicate your preferred book and your best meeting time. 

The book choices selected from the 25 book suggestions are:

Abounding in Kindness, by Elizabeth A. Johnson, Orbis Books –
“From the question of belief itself, to the mysteries of God, Jesus Christ, and the work of the Holy Spirit, a central theme for Johnson is the overflowing compassion of the living God, engaged with the struggles and suffering of the world. Throughout this collection, Johnson’s feminist insights, her concerns for an imperiled planet and for those on the margins, add urgency and passion to her reflections.“
(www.orbisbooks.com/abounding-in-kindness.html

Living Cosmology, edited by Mary Evelyn Tucker and John Grim, Orbis Books –
“This volume explores the Christian responses to the Universe Story and its implications for the contemporary environmental crisis. Beginning with excerpts from recent statements by Pope Francis and the Ecumenical Patriarch Bartholomew, the book draws on the contributions of leading theologians, ethicists, scientists, and activists, including John Haught, Ilia Delio, Catherine Keller, Larry Rasmussen, and more than twenty-five others.”
(www.orbisbooks.com/living-cosmology.html

The book preferred by the majority of participants in the meeting time they selected will be the book the group reads. (Note: Orbis offers a 40% discount to book group members.)  

The same days/times are offered: 

Sunday: 8:00pm ET (7pm CT/6pm MT/5pm PT) 

Tuesday: 11:00am ET (10am CT/9am MT/8am PT) 

Friday: 1:00pm ET (12n CT/11am MT/10am PT) 

Also, you may suggest an alternate day/time, which will be considered for new groups. The number of participants in any group should be 12 or fewer. As before, Bob Short will work his magic and try to accommodate your requests. 

The format will be essentially the same as before: a weekly conference call of about one hour using UberConference (free to participants). Participants will take turns facilitating a session, sending out 3-5 questions before each session. The group decides how the discussion will be structured, but each person will have the opportunity to speak. 

To sign-up or for questions, please email Bob Short at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. with your time and book preferences.

 

 

Read 441 times Last modified on Tuesday, 08 November 2016 22:16
Login to post comments